Torrey Pines Wins CIF San Diego Title in New Open Division


Torrey Pines (17-3) won the 2013 CIF San Diego Section crown last Saturday by defeating La Costa Canyon (18-4), 7-5. The game was a rematch of last year’s title game, in which Torrey Pines saw its lead slip away in overtime.

Torrey Pines celebrates its 2013 San Diego championship. (Photo courtesy of @torreypineslax)

This marked the first season that the top teams in the San Diego Section conducted playoffs in what was called the Open Division. Under this system, eight teams received Open Division playoff bids based on their history of success over the past few seasons, regardless of school enrollment. The previous system categorized teams as Division I and Division II for the playoffs based on school size. Teams that were not among those top eight but still had playoff-caliber seasons received bids into separate brackets using the school-size system, with 12 teams in each division.

In the Open Division, Torrey Pines was the No. 1-seed and La Costa Canyon was No. 2, a reversal of seeding from last year’s Division I playoffs. Last year’s Division II champion and runner-up — Coronado and Bishop’s, respectively — also participated in the Open Division.

In Division I, Westview (20-3) defeated Carlsbad (11-9) 8-3 in the title game. In Division II, Francis Parker (9-8) defeated Del Norte (7-12) 12-4.

This was Torrey Pines’ sixth championship in the 12 years that lacrosse has been a CIF-sanctioned sport in San Diego. La Costa Canyon has five titles in the CIF era.

The Open Division final can be seen in its entirety on The Lacrosse Network.