La Costa Canyon, Coronado capture San Diego CIF titles

CIF San Diego Lacrosse 2012

No. 1 seed La Costa Canyon (22-1) rallied to beat No. 2 Torrey Pines (17-5) 8-7 in overtime Saturday to win the CIF San Diego section Division I title at Westview High School. In the Division II championship game, No. 2 Coronado (18-4) took down No. 1 Bishop’s, 6-3.

Division I: La Costa Canyon 8, Torrey Pines 7, OT
In what was a defensive battle early, LCC made a huge fourth-quarter comeback to force overtime and eventually capture its fifth title in the last seven years.

The score was 3-3 after three quarters, but the Torrey Pines Falcons seemed to be pulling away to a repeat of their 2011 championship, scoring the first three goals of the fourth quarter. The Mavericks did not give up, though, cutting the margin to one with about four minutes to play. Torrey Pines scored again with a minute left, making it 7-5, but LCC’s Tom Riis with two goals in the final minute to tie and force overtime.

With 20 seconds left in OT, attackman Aaron Loy scored his third OT winner of the season to clinch the championship. The victory was LCC’s third over their Palomar League rival this season, including a 9-7 victory in April and an 8-7 triple-overtime win a little more than three weeks before the championship game.

Check out the winning goal, an interview with LCC head coach Jesse Foss, and photos here as well as a game recap here. Catch the entire game on The Lacrosse Network.

Division II: Coronado 6, Bishop’s 3
Coronado avenged an early-season, 5-4 loss to the Bishop’s School Knights en route to winning its third title in the last four seasons. Coronado’s Hunter Corpus, a senior midfielder heading to Air Force, led the Islanders with three goals, and seniors Bobby Ferrar and George Bailey also tallied for the Islanders. This was Bishop’s first championship-game appearance.

Photos, interviews, and more can be found here, game recap here and TLN full-game coverage here.