Arizona State vs. Georgia

Catching up: Colorado State repeats as MCLA national champion

0 - Published May 20, 2013 by in College

Saturday marked the last day of the MCLA season, as Colorado State took down rival Colorado to repeat as national champions. Here’s a recap of tournament week from Greenville, S.C., where Southland teams didn’t fare too well, but lots of Southland alums represented.

First Round

• No. 3 Arizona State cruised to a 17-5 win over No. 14 Georgia.

• No. 5 Chapman lost a four-overtime thriller to No. 12 Oregon, 8-7. It was the Panthers’ second tight loss of the season to Oregon, which won 9-8 at Chapman in February. Chapman finished 13-6, with two losses to the Ducks and one each to Arizona State, BYU, and national finalists Colorado and Colorado State.

• No. 6 UC Santa Barbara rallied back after a slow start to a big 14-7 win over No. 11 Oregon State.

• No. 13 Grand Canyon was unable to get revenge on No. 4 BYU, falling 17-8. The Cougars beat the ‘Lopes 13-12 in March.

• No. 5 Concordia (Division II) was upset by No. 12 Grove City (Pa.), 12-9. The Wolverines rode a 6-2 second-quarter scoring surge to the victory. The Eagles finished 12-4 with losses to eventual champion St. Thomas, to national runner-up Westminster, 14-13 to Division I Utah and to Grove City.


• No. 3 ASU took down No. 6 UCSB 15-5 in a rematch of the SLC finals, which Arizona State won 9-5. The Gauchos finished their season 14-7, with three of the losses coming against the Sun Devils, one each against national finalists Colorado and Colorado State, and one to No. 5-seed Chapman.

ASU was the only SLC team to advance to the MCLA Final Four this season. (photo courtesy of Derek Miller, featured on MCLA Fan)

ASU was the only SLC team to advance to the MCLA Final Four this season. (photo courtesy of Derek Miller, featured on MCLA Fan)


• No. 3 ASU was unable to reach the championship game as No. 2 Colorado scored a last-minute goal to beat the Sun Devils 5-4 and set up a title grudge match against defending champ and No. 1 seed Colorado State.


Colorado State took a 4-0 halftime lead and had little trouble beating the Buffaloes 7-2 to win the title and cap an undefeated, 21-0 season. The Rams also had beaten Colorado 8-3 to wrap up the regular season and 9-6 to win the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference tournament.

Local players

While there were no SLC teams in the finals, there were quite a few Southland Lax alums in the championship game. Two Southland guys even put up points in the title match: CSU’s Jake Johnson (Lake Forest/El Toro HS) with a goal and Colorado’s Jack Cranston (Santa Margarita Cathollic) with an assist.

Here’s a rundown of other Southland players in the title game:

Colorado State
• FR Attack Jake Johnson (El Toro ’11, PG Year at Bridgton Academy) – 9G, 2A

• FR Attack Hunter Molnar (Corona del Mar ’12) – 4G, 1A
• RS FR Attack Jake Lucier (JSerra ’11) – 2G, 2A
• SO Attack Jace Gan (Huntington Beach ’11) – 25G, 17A
• RS JR LSM Sean Crane (Loyola ’09) – 6GB
• SR Midfield Jack • Cranston (Santa Margarita ’09) – 18G, 6A
• RS SR Midfield Cory Ames (Newport Harbor ’08) – 3G, 4A, 39GB

, , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply